You are here

‘Visscherskoppen’ - Stephan Vanfleteren

afbeelding visscherskoppen Stephan Vanfleteren
(c) Jan D'hondt Bad voor NAVIGO
Due to the expo 'Onze Vissers', the 'Visscherskoppen' are temporarily unavailable.

 

In the temporary exhibition hall of the NAVIGO – National Fisheries Museum you come face to face with 26 special men. Fishermen from the region, marked by the hard life on the North Sea. Each face, weather-beaten by water and wind, tells its own story. Joy, sadness, fear, confidence, love for the trade, face to face with the sea’s uncontrollable force. Or how one picture can say more than a thousand words.
Clouds, horizon and water: the fisherman’s holy trinity. At the mercy of the sea, their ship, their superstition and in the worst case the rescue helicopter. Fishermen snatched away from the life on land. A nation that in earlier times did not name itself aer their o­cial surnames, but their nicknames: Puste, Sjiekke, Mestkarre, Dove Fluppe, Harry Lap, Neuze, Bananne...
Photographer Stephan Vanfl­eteren (° 1969) grew up in the city of Oostduinkerke. As child of the sea he has been fascinated by the life of the fishermen for years. With ‘Visscherskoppen’ Van­fleteren wants to pay a respectful tribute to these heroes. These impressive portraits form an integral part of the collection of the NAVIGO – National Fisheries Museum.

Vous êtes ici

‘Visscherskoppen’ - Stephan Vanfleteren

afbeelding visscherskoppen Stephan Vanfleteren
(c) Jan D'hondt Bad voor NAVIGO
En raison de l'exposition 'Nos pêcheurs', les 'Visscherskoppen' son temporairement inaccessible. 

 

Dans la salle d’exposition temporaire du NAVIGO - Musée national de la Pêche, vous vous retrouvez nez à nez avec 26 hommes d’exception. Des pêcheurs de chez nous, marqués par la vie rude en mer du Nord. Chaque visage, altéré par l’eau et le vent, a une histoire. Joie, tristesse, peur, confiance, amour du métier, face à face avec la force naturelle de la mer. Ou comment une image vaut mieux que 1000 mots.

Les nuages, l' horizon et l’eau : la sainte trinité du pêcheur. Abandonnés à la mer, à leur navire, à leurs superstitions et, dans le pire des cas, à l’hélicoptère de sauvetage. Des pêcheurs arrachés à leur vie à terre. Un peuple que l’on désignait auparavant non pas par leur nom o­ficiel, mais par leur sobriquet : Puste, Sjiekke, Mestkarre, Dove Fluppe, Harry Lap, Neuze, Bananne...

Le photographe Stephan Van­fleteren (° 1969) a grandi à Oostduinkerke. Enfant de la mer, la vie des pêcheurs le fascine depuis des années. Avec ‘Visscherskoppen’, Van­fleteren veut rendre un hommage respectueux à ces héros. Ces portraits impressionnants font partie intégrale de la collection du NAVIGO – Musée national de la Pêche.